Skip to content

Economics, mathematics double-major nominated by Michigan State University for nationally competitive graduate school scholarship

Matthew Suandi of Williamston, Michigan has been nominated by Michigan State University (MSU) for the nationally competitive Beinecke Scholarship, which pays for graduate studies in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Suandi is an Honors College junior majoring in economics in the College of Social Science and mathematics in the College of Natural Science.

A graduate of Williamston High School, Suandi came to MSU as an Alumni Distinguished Scholar. In addition to his coursework, he currently holds three research assistant positions within the Department of Geography and Department of Economics.

Suandi also participates in the Michigan State University Model United Nations and is an Econ Scholar.

“In my future research career, I seek to holistically examine economic development,” Suandi said. “For me, it is not enough to learn how and why a challenging problem exists. It is necessary to apply that knowledge toward resolving that problem.”

The National and International Fellowships and Scholarships (NIFS) Office, administered by the Honors College, helps interested undergraduate and graduate students to pursue major national and international opportunities by providing information and direct support throughout the competitive application processes.

MSU has produced two Beinecke Scholars since 2011, which is when the university was invited to be a nominating institution.

If awarded the scholarship, he will receive $4,000 immediately prior to entering graduate school and an additional $30,000 while attending graduate school. He plans to earn a doctoral degree in economics.

“Matthew is a high-achieving student who is interested in applying his talent to the issues surrounding global economic development,” said Cynthia Jackson-Elmoore, dean of the MSU Honors College. “Graduate school is the logical next step for Matthew and we are proud as a university to nominate him for the Beinecke Scholarship.”

The Beinecke Scholarship Program was established in 1971 by the Board of Directors of The Sperry and Hutchinson Company to honor Edwin, Frederick, and Walter Beinecke. The program seeks to encourage and enable highly motivated students to pursue opportunities available to them and to be courageous in the selection of a graduate course of study in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Back To Top