Skip to content

Honors College senior nominated by MSU for prestigious STEM scholarship

Abigail Shotwell, an Honors College senior majoring in microbiology in Lyman Briggs College, has been nominated by Michigan State University for the Churchill Scholarship – a nationally competitive STEM award that pays for graduate school in the United Kingdom.

Abigail Shotwell
Abigail Shotwell

Established in 1959, the Winston Churchill Foundation’s Scholarship Program offers 14 American students of exceptional ability and outstanding achievement the opportunity to pursue graduate degrees in engineering, mathematics, or the sciences in Churchill College at the University of Cambridge in England.

Shotwell was an honorable mention for the Goldwater Scholarship earlier this year. She is a research assistant in the MSU Water Quality, Environmental, and Molecular Microbiology Laboratory, monitoring bacterial levels. Previously, she worked as a research assistant for Assistant Professor Gerald Urquhart.

“Abigail’s exposure to faculty-led research at Michigan State University has undoubtedly opened new horizons,” said Cynthia Jackson-Elmoore, dean of the MSU Honors College. “We congratulate her for earning this nomination for the Churchill Scholarship.”

The National and International Fellowship and Scholarship (NIFS) office at Michigan State University, administered by the Honors College, helps interested undergraduate and graduate students to pursue major national and international opportunities by providing information and direct support throughout the competitive application processes.

MSU has produced 18 Churchill Scholars.

Back To Top