Skip to content

Michigan State University students earn national STEM scholarships

East Lansing, Mich. – Two Michigan State University undergraduate students have been named recipients of the nationally competitive Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship. MSU has produced 49 Goldwater Scholars.

MSU’s Goldwater Scholars are:

  • Charles Hultquist, an Honors College junior majoring in Physics and Advanced Mathematics in the College of Natural Science.
  • Andrew McDonald, an Honors College junior majoring in Computer Science in the College of Engineering; and Statistics, and Advanced Mathematics in the College of Natural Science.

Charles HultquistHultquist is a research assistant for Dr. Remco Zegers in MSU’s National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory, and recipient of MSU’s Alumni Distinguished Scholarship. He is from Aurora, Illinois and graduated from the Illinois Math and Science Academy.

“I am incredibly excited to be selected as a Goldwater scholar and earnestly grateful for the recognition I have received for my work. I would like to thank my research mentor, Dr. Remco Zegers, and the entire MSU community that has supported me throughout my college experience. This opportunity would not have been possible without them. I look forward to continuing my research here at MSU and in graduate school” Hultquist said.

Andrew McDonaldMcDonald is a research assistant for Dr. Vaibhav Srivastava in the Distributed Cyber Physical Human Systems Research (D-CYPHER) Laboratory, and Dr. Laura Dillion, an emeritus professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering. He is a recipient of MSU’s Alumni Distinguished Scholarship. McDonald is from Hudson, Ohio and graduated from Hudson High School.

“To be awarded the Goldwater Scholarship is an incredible honor—an honor I’m thrilled to share with the faculty and students of MSU who have shaped my aspirations in research and academia. I look forward to pursuing a PhD in machine learning and artificial intelligence following my time as an undergraduate, and would like to thank those who have encouraged and empowered my curiosity as a Spartan: my parents, my research mentor Professor Vaibhav Srivastava, and the countless others within the College of Engineering and College of Natural Science I’ve had the privilege to interact with” McDonald said.

Each year, the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship seeks scholars committed to a career in science, mathematics, or engineering who display intellectual intensity and who have the potential for significant future contribution in their chosen field. Those students are awarded funding for undergraduate tuition and living expenses.

For the 2021 Goldwater Scholarship competition, 1,256 outstanding undergraduates were nominated by 438 institutions. Hultquist and McDonald were among 410 scholars selected. The funding for these awards is a collaboration between the U.S. Congress and the Department of Defense’s National Defense Education Program.

The National/International Fellowships & Scholarships (NIFS) Office, administered by the Honors College, helps interested undergraduate and graduate students pursue major national and international opportunities by providing information and direct support throughout the competitive application processes

Back To Top