Skip to content

MSU Nominates Four Students for Prestigious Goldwater Scholarship

East Lansing, Mich. – The MSU Distinguished Student Awards Office has nominated four students for the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship. Michigan State has produced 53 Goldwater Scholars.  

The Goldwater Foundation seeks sophomores and juniors committed to a research career in STEM fields with the potential for significant future contribution in their chosen field. The award provides $7,500 per year in funding for 51 students for undergraduate tuition and living expenses. 

All four MSU nominees are members of the Honors College and have had multiple research experiences across campus. They are:

  • Libby Ashby, a third-year student from Jenison, Michigan studying Geological Sciences and Chemistry in the College of Natural Science; 
  • Aaron Philip, a second-year student from Los Alamos, New Mexico studying Physics and Advanced Mathematics in the College of Natural Science; 
  • Denis Selyuzhitsky, is a third-year student from Buffalo Grove, Illinois studying Advanced Mathematics and Statistics in the College of Natural Science, as well as Economics in the College of Social Science; 
  • Grace Urban, a third-year student from Columbia, Missouri studying Genomics and Molecular Genetics in the College of Natural Science.

The Distinguished Student Awards Office (formerly National/International Fellowships and Scholarships Office), administered by the Honors College, helps undergraduate and graduate students pursue major national and international opportunities by providing information and direct support throughout the competitive application processes.

Back To Top